H.B.N. Hynes Scholarship
Canadian Rivers Institute

Value: $1000

The annual scholarship is named in honour of Dr. H.B. Noel Hynes who is known as the "the father of running water ecology." The most renowned of freshwater biologists, Dr. Hynes wrote the first comprehensive running waters text book, "The Ecology of Running Waters" following his book on "The Biology of Polluted Waters."

He became a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada in 1978, he was a Fellow of the Institute of Biology and the American Society for the Advancement of Science, Distinguished Emeritus Professor (Waterloo), and he held Honourary Degrees at Universities of London, Waterloo, and New Brunswick.

Among his awards are the Canadian Centenary Medal (1967), the Colonel Hilary Jolly Award of the Australian Society of Limnology (1985), the Award of Excellence from the North American Benthological Society (1988), and the Naumann-Thienemann Medal (1998) the highest award afforded an aquatic biologist by the Societas Internationalis Limnologiciae.

Application process and timeline

  • An application cover letter (a maximum of 500 words, standard business format, highlighting why your application should be considered) - evaluated at 25%
  • Your proposed or completed research (summary 3 pages maximum) describing how your research project and program support the objectives of the Canadian Rivers Institute and how they link to the works of Noel Hynes - evaluated at 60%
  • A CV (2 pages maximum) - evaluated at 15%

Submissions must include all of the above. They will be evaluated by a committee of the CRI Management Board and Emeritus and Honorary Science Directors.

Deadline for the 2017 applications - Oct 1st, 2017

Sean Landsman PhD candidate at UPEI receives the 2016 HBN Hynes Scholarship from CRI Director Dr. Michael van den Heuvel

Who can apply?

CRI Graduate Students. The application process alternates annually between MSc and PhD student applications.

Award announcement

The successful recipient will be announced during CRI Days.

Past Winners

2012: Christopher Tyrrell (PhD candidate, UNB-Fredericton)
2013: Katherine Standen (MSc candidate, UNB-Fredericton)
2014: Audrey Maheu (PhD candidate, INRS Quebec City)
2015: Michelle Lavery (MSc candidate, UNB-Fredericton)
2016: Sean Landsman (PhD candidate, UPEI)


15th Anniversary Special Student Scholarships

Congratulations to the special CRI 15th Anniversary Pecha Kucha Presentation Scholarship winners, awarded at CRI Days 2016 at INRS in Quebec City:

Jennifer Thera, PhD candidate, UNB Saint John: Does cysteine explain the variability of mercury in aquatic food webs?

Daniel Arluison, MSc candidate, UNB Fredericton: Sturgeon: River Monsters or Gentle Giants?

Brianna Levenstein, MSc candidate, UNB Fredericton: Investigating the impacts of permafrost degradation on Arctic stream ecosystems

Dr. Meghann Bruce (far right) presents the winners of the special CRI 15th Anniversary Pecha Kucha Scholarship: Daniel Arluison, Jennifer Thera, and Brianna Levenstein (left to right). Photo: S. Merrill