Management Board

The Management Board is comprised of individuals from government, partner institutions, academia, industry, and science/research groups responsible for overseeing the development, execution and review of the Institute research plan with particular emphasis on ensuring sustainable operations, growth and expansion in support of the Institute's vision and mission.

As patrons committed to the vision and mission of the CRI, the Management Board, will actively promote regional, national, and international opportunities and partnerships, and provide advice and direction to the CRI Executive.


Alex Bielak, PhD

Founder, Alex Bielak Communications

Jean-François Blais, PhD

Director, Institute national de la recherche scientifique - Centre Eau Terre Environnement

Simon Courtenay, PhD

Chair of the CRI Science Directors, Professor in the School of Environment, Resources and Sustainability, University of Waterloo

George Dixon, PhD

Vice-President, University Research and Professor of Biology at University of Waterloo

David MaGee, PhD

Acting Vice-President (Research) at the University of New Brunswick

Robert Gilmour, PhD

Vice President Research & Development, University of Prince Edward Island

Perry Haines

Assistant Deputy Minister, NB Environment

Jack G. Imhof

Director of Conservation Ecology, Trout Unlimited Canada

Kevin Cash, PhD

Director General, Water Science and Technology, Environment and Climate Change Canada

Anne Lévesque

Executive Director, Canadian Rivers Institute

Stella Swanson, PhD

Swanson Environmental Strategies Ltd.

Michael van den Heuvel, PhD

Institute Director

Fred Whoriskey, PhD, Chair

Executive Director, Ocean Tracking Network, Dalhousie University

Frederick J. Wrona, PhD

Chief Scientist and Assistant Deputy Minister, Alberta Environment and Parks, Government of Alberta